top of page
Recent Posts

Kill Your Darlings, PRINT Magazine


This magazine article was brilliant because it showed all the rejected covers that designers created and the final versions that were approved. This is a huge part of the design process and is probably one of the more informative things I’ve seen. It’s so intriguing to see all the different visual interpretations of the same story. It’s ironic, but I often found myself preferring the original designs that got rejected. They were often more provocative which is what made them more powerful in my eyes, even though they may have been less clear or recognizable. One interesting quote from designer Paul Sahre that stood out to me: “Still I look at [the original cover] and think: this would have been a better cover. But then that other cover wouldn’t have happened”. This is a great way to look at the reality of rejection in the field.

Read the article here: http://www.printmag.com/article/kill-your-darlings/


Archive
bottom of page