top of page
Recent Posts

Haiku Txt Wd Type- A Steven Heller article for PRINT Magazine


“Haiku Txt in Wd Type” was a pretty eye-catching title for an article, so naturally, I had to see what it was all about. It turns out that German print-maker, Dirk Hagner is making prints using the unexpected combination of text slang and the ancient art of Japanese haiku poetry. The prints bridge Eastern and Western culture creating a sort of puzzle for the eye and the mind. I think this is a incredibly interesting approach to print making and I love that Hagner was not afraid to embrace this new language that so many look down upon with disdain, that he even took it upon himself to make it beautiful through traditional Japanese poetry. I think I’m partial to his work because I have a particular love of poetry and I am a member of the technology generation, but even I have to admit I can’t decode all of his messages! Nevertheless, it’s all part of the fun and I think most would agree that his concept is interesting and innovative.

Read the article here: http://www.printmag.com/daily-heller/haiku-txt-dirk-hagner/


Archive
bottom of page